Appointment Preferences

The Appointments Preferences page allows you to configure whether to allow patients to request, schedule, or cancel appointments via the Portal.  The Appointment Preferences page will only display options that apply to your platform and version. See below for Intergy customers on v12.00 and above, and Prime Suite customers on v17.10 and above.

How to Get Here

Select Appointment Preferences from the Settings widget on the Admin Dashboard, or from the Settings panel.

The screen shot below shows the Appointment Preferences settings page for Intergy practices on v12.00 and below.

The Settings widget and Settings panel will only display the functionality that applies to your products (either Portal, Messaging, or both).

The following options are available:

  • Allow patients to request appointments: Allows patients to request appointments in the portal.
  • Show location options from the locations checked in Locations. You can also Require patients to select a location.
  • Show provider options from the providers checked in Resources. If this is checked, you can also Require patients to select a provider.
  • Allow patient to select preferred day(s). If checked, you must select at least one day.
  • Show time of day for selection (Morning or Afternoon).
  • Show time frame, or how soon they want the appointment.
  • Show priority picker, or which selection is most important.
  • Whether to Show locations when patients look at their Scheduled Appointments.
  • Whether to Show a map. This displays a link to Google Maps for Scheduled Appointments.
  • Whether to Show all scheduled appointments.
    • When Show all scheduled appointments is checked, all scheduled appointments are displayed and none are hidden.
    • When Show all scheduled appointments is unchecked, only scheduled appointments set in Availability Settings or in an appointment type, location, or resource's edit mode will display.

In cases where there is only one location and one physician, Show location options and Show provider options can be safely left unchecked.

Intergy practices will also see the following options (for more information see the Secure Messaging and Appointment Request Updates topic):

  • Require patients to request appointments with previous providers and locations.
  • Do not allow new patients to request appointment.

In this context, "previous providers and locations" refers to any provider or location that a patient has a signed encounter with in the core platform.

Changes are immediately visible to users in the My Appointments page after you Save.

Intergy v12.00 and above & Prime Suite v17.10 and above

For Intergy customers on v12.00 and above, and Prime Suite customers on v17.10 and above, the Appointment Preferences page will have additional options not shown above.  For these customers, the Appointments Preferences page allows configuration for direct scheduling, appointment requests, real-time availability, and scheduled appointments.

  • Allow patients to direct schedule qualifying appointment types.  Allows patients to schedule appointments directly to your resources’ schedule in the portal.
  • Allow patients to cancel appointment. Allows patients to cancel appointments in the portal. This option only appears when direct scheduling is enabled. After selecting this option, practices can set the amount of days prior to an appointment date when the option to cancel an appointment will be disabled.
  • Allow patients to request appointments. Allows patients to request appointments in the portal.
  • Show real-time availability. Allows patients to request appointments based upon your providers real-time availability.
  • Whether to Show locations when patients look at their Scheduled Appointments.
  • Whether to Show a map. This displays a link to Google Maps for Scheduled Appointments.
  • Whether to Show all scheduled appointments.
    • When Show all scheduled appointments is checked, all scheduled appointments are displayed and none are hidden.

    • When Show all scheduled appointments is unchecked, only scheduled appointments set in Availability Settings or in an appointment type, location, or resource's edit mode will display.

If the real-time availability setting is disabled, the following options will appear:

  • Show location options from the locations checked in Locations. You can also Require patients to select a location.
  • Show provider options from the providers checked in Resources. If this is checked, you can also Require patients to select a provider.
  • Allow patient to select preferred day(s). If checked, you must select at least one day.
  • Show time of day for selection (Morning or Afternoon).
  • Show time frame, or how soon they want the appointment.
  • Show priority picker, or which selection is most important.

Intergy practices on v12.00 and above will also see the following options:

  • Require patients to schedule appointments with previous providers and locations.
  • Do not allow new patients to schedule appointment.

In this context, "previous providers and locations" refers to any provider or location that a patient has a signed encounter with in the core platform.

Changes are immediately visible to users in the My Appointments page after you Save.